Ball Embedded in Grass Bank or Face
Ball on Edge of Bunker Overhanging Sand
Half-Eaten Pear in Bunker
Player Uses Cane or Club to Enter or Leave Hazard When Ball Lies in Hazard
Rake Handle Stuck in Bunker Before Stroke
Searching with Clubhead for Ball Covered by Sand in Bunker
Top of Ball in Hazard Covered by Leaves But Part of Ball Visible from Another Angle
Dec 25-2/5 Ball Embedded in Grass Bank or Face of Bunker
Are grass banks or faces of bunkers considered to be “closely mown areas” under
Rule 25-2 (Embedded Ball) and may relief be taken from
them under that Rule?
A. No, not unless they are cut to fairway height or less.
Dec 13/3 Ball on Edge of Bunker Overhanging Sand
Is a ball in a bunker if it lies on the edge of the
bunker overhanging, but not touching, the sand?
A. No. The margin of a bunker, unlike that of a water hazard, does not extend vertically upward.
Dec 23/3 Half-Eaten Pear in Bunker
A half-eaten pear lies directly in front of a ball in a bunker and there is no
pear tree in the vicinity of the bunker. In the circumstances, is the pear an
obstruction rather than a loose impediment, in which case the player could
remove it without penalty?
A. No. A pear is a natural object. When detached from a tree it is a loose impediment. The fact that a pear has been half-eaten and there is no pear tree in the vicinity does not alter the status of the pear.
Dec 13-4/22 Rake Handle Stuck in Bunker Before Stroke
A takes a rake into a bunker so that he can smooth
his footprints after playing from the bunker. He sticks the handle of the rake
into the sand prior to playing his stroke. Is this permissible?
A. No. A was in breach of Rule 13-4 which prohibits testing the condition of a hazard when the ball lies in the hazard.
Dec 12-1/1 Searching with Clubhead for Ball Covered by Sand in Bunker
If a ball is covered by sand in a bunker, may a
clubhead be used in searching?
Dec 12-1/3 Top of Ball in Hazard Covered by Leaves But Part of Ball Visible from Another Angle
Q. The top of a ball in a hazard is covered by leaves so that it is not visible when the player addresses it. However, a portion of the ball is visible from another angle. Is it permissible for the player to remove enough leaves to see the ball when addressing it? A. No. A player is entitled to remove loose impediments covering a ball in a hazard only if the ball is not visible from any angle
Dec 13-4/3.5 Player Uses Cane or Club to Enter or Leave Hazard When Ball Lies in Hazard
A player, to prevent falling, uses a cane or club
to enter or leave a hazard when his ball lies in the hazard. Is the player in
breach of Rule 13-4?
A. No, provided nothing is done which constitutes testing the condition of the hazard or improves the lie of the ball — see Exception 1 to Rule 13-4. (Revised)