Ball Played From Wrong Teeing
Ground in Stroke Play; Error Corrected
Breaking Off Grass Behind Ball on Teeing Ground
Lifting Ball in Play But Still Within Teeing Ground
Original Ball Out of Bounds; Ball Played Under Stroke-and-Distance Procedure Falls Off Tee at Address
Stroke Misses Ball; Ball Then Accidentally Knocked Off Tee
Dec 11-5/4 Ball Played From Wrong Teeing Ground in Stroke Play; Error Corrected
play, after finishing the 10th hole, A and B played from the teeing ground of
the 15th hole instead of the 11th hole. They realized their error before
completing the 15th hole, returned to the 11th tee and completed the round. What
is the ruling?
A. A and B each incurred a penalty of two strokes under Rule 11-4b. They were correct in discontinuing play at the 15th hole and returning to the 11th hole. Strokes played at the 15th hole, when it was played out of order, did not count.
Dec 13-2/3 Breaking Off Grass Behind Ball on Teeing Ground
Under Rule 13-2, it is permissible to eliminate
irregularities of surface on the teeing ground. Is it also permissible to break
off or pull out grass growing behind a ball on the teeing ground?
Dec 11-3/2 Lifting Ball in Play But Still Within Teeing Ground
A player made his first stroke from the teeing ground and barely moved the ball,
which remained within the teeing ground. The player re-teed the ball and claimed
that, as the ball was still within the teeing ground, he was entitled to do so
without penalty. Was the player correct?
A. No. When the player made a stroke, the ball was in play (see Definition of 'Ball in Play'
). When he lifted the ball, he incurred a penalty of one stroke under Rule 18-2a and was required to replace it. However, if the player makes a stroke at the re-teed ball, he has played a ball under penalty of stroke and distance (see Decision 27/17). This procedure overrides Rule 18-2a and, therefore, the penalty under Rule 18-2a does not apply. (Revised)
Dec 11-3/3 Original Ball Out of Bounds; Ball Played Under Stroke-and-Distance Procedure Falls Off Tee at Address
A player played his original ball out of bounds
from the teeing ground. Under Rule 27-1, he teed up another ball. When
addressing the ball, he touched it and it fell off the tee. What is the ruling?
A. There is no penalty, because a teed ball is not in play until a stroke has been made at it (see Definition of 'Ball in Play'
). The ball may be re-teed (Rule 11-3).
Dec 11-3/1 Stroke Misses Ball; Ball Then Accidentally Knocked Off Tee
A player teed his ball within the teeing ground. He
made a stroke at the ball but missed it. He addressed the ball again and
accidentally knocked it off the tee. What is the ruling?
A. When the player made a stroke at the ball, it was in play and Rule 11-3 no longer applied. When the ball in play moved after it was addressed, the player incurred a penalty stroke and was obliged to replace the ball (Rule 18-2b).