12-2/2  Touching and Rotating Half-Buried Ball in Hazard for Identification Purposes


Q. A ball is half buried in a water hazard and is not identifiable. Having announced his intention in advance to his opponent, marker or fellow-competitor, the player touches the ball and rotates it. By so doing he is able to identify the ball as his ball. Is such procedure permissible?


A. No. Neither Rule 12-2 nor any other Rule permits a player to touch his ball in a hazard for identification purposes. Accordingly, the player was in breach of Rule 18-2a for touching his ball purposely and incurred a penalty of one stroke.